To Make a Difference

standing-over-creek-at-steves-camp-2014

“As one person I cannot change the world, but I can change the world of one person.”
~ Paul Shane Spear

Two years ago, I posted (on my personal Facebook page) the above photo and commented that I knew big changes were coming … I didn’t know what or how, but I knew. A handful of weeks later, the bus I was riding on hit and killed a woman; I sat in the snow holding her hand as she silently moved on, and I knew in my heart that life would never again be the same for me. I left Upstate NY just 5 months later, and began this adventure … a horrible tragedy converted into the spark for what became known as “The Ride.”

Last week I uploaded a new banner to that Facebook page … my shoe once again by running waters, this time perched on a rock, and quoted Lao Tzu: “The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.” I wrote that I was standing at the river of time, ready to cross into 2017. In my heart I knew, once again, that something was going to change … but little did I know that a life-altering moment laid just around the corner.anne-christine-always-remember

Five days later, on New Year’s eve day, I woke up to learn that the body of a beautiful woman – a mother of two and daughter of a friend of mine – was found murdered … her body wrapped in plastic, in the garage of her abusive ex-husband’s. She had been missing for three weeks. As an adult survivor of childhood abuse and knowing full-well the terrifying and helpless fear of the next blow, this tragedy has reached up from the depths and grabbed me by the throat. As I sit writing this, I find myself still in a daze, heart aching beyond words … and feeling helpless once again.

It is time to stop the impotence.

domestic-violence-banner

2 thoughts on “To Make a Difference

    • Thank you, David. Not only for the gift of your words here, but for your continued presence in my life and for sharing time and space with me last summer. Many sweet and fond memories, I’ll carry with me forever. And … hopefully one day, I’ll see you and Glo again. And the fur kids! Much love to you. Peace and blessings, and joy, for the year to come. (((hugs)))

      Like

Leave a Reply

