To Retain a Piece of Unity

“The real reason why human life can be so utterly exasperating and frustrating is not because there are facts called death, pain, fear, or hunger. The madness of the thing is that when such facts are present, we circle, buzz, writhe, and whirl, trying to get the “I” out of the experience. We pretend that we are amoebas, and try to protect ourselves from life by splitting in two. Sanity, wholeness, and integration lie in the realization that we are not divided, that man and his present experience are one, and that no separate “I” or mind can be found.
To understand music, you must listen to it. But so long as you are thinking, “I am listening to this music,” you are not listening.”
~ Alan Watts

7-31-16 sunset rays HDR 3500 signed

I ran across this quote this morning as I made my final preparations for the long drive back east across this amazing land. I am so profoundly grateful for every moment of “The Ride” – grateful far beyond what any words can ever convey. For 14 months, I was not split, I was not divided, I was not separated … I lived, breathed, cried and danced as one with all that I saw and experienced. Truly a gift beyond measure. And now as I begin the road back, my prayer is that I may retain just a tiny piece of this. Not just memories, but of the deep union between all that is. Nya:weh, thank you … skies, earth, heavens, Creator … for allowing me to be a part of this. I am truly blessed and grateful far beyond anything I can ever say.

Leave a Reply

