So It Begins

“Sooner or later we must realize there is no station, no one place to arrive at once and for all.
The true joy of life is the trip.’ ~ 
Robert J. Hastings

And so it begins … my first morning on the trip, the journey … the Ride.  A wonderfully cocooned start to the day – sitting deckside, fog slowly rising from the dense woods that cloak the hills, crows cawing and bullfrogs drumming. A gentle wind-chime’s tone bringing me back to the mindfulness of this moment.  A blue-eyed kitty comes to say hello. I’m at a dear friend’s house for a bit … a wonderful sister-of-the-heart who I’ve not seen for a couple of years, yet the time diminishes nothing. It gives me a little while to ‘recuperate’ from the hectic week prior to leaving … not to mention, time to re-sort all I’ve packed in the car. I’m still looking for the black belt I know I packed somewhere….

I’ve said this journey is to be one of learning and one of growing, and it will be so here, as well. I’ll be working at one of the bakery/restaurants that my friends own, learning the ins & outs of the kitchen, as well as how to decorate a cake … that promises to be very interesting, as “crafty” things are not something I’ve ever had much of a talent for! For some reason thoughts of  Lucy and the chocolate factory are racing through my mind….   But my friend swears she can teach me – the question is, will I brave enough to post a photo of the finished product? We shall see. While here, I’ll also be getting a new hair cut and a new tattoo … a dragonfly to speak of the metamorphosis to a new stage in life. Dee & I will most likely be getting matching ones, actually, to remember a connection of heart that will last long after the ride is ended. Oh, and there is also kayaking to be done and trail explorations of nearby monolithic rock formations used in history past as fortresses for local indigenous peoples. Relaxing times and lots of laughter. Many wonderful wonderful memories to be made, many moments of today to cherish for years to come.

But for now the crows and frogs and doves and dragonflies beckon me come, sit on the deck again, we are waiting to share our time with you…. let’s dance to the song of Life.1st Morning

One thought on “So It Begins

  1. Catherine, Sometime soon, you may think to yourself, “what the hell am I doing!” Be sure that you are doing exactly what you are supposed to do. Chin up, enjoy, discover and learn. We all are with you in spirit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

