Turn the Page

“You will recognize your own path when you come upon it, because you will suddenly have all the energy and imagination you will ever need.” ~ Jerry Gillies

Turn the Page

Turn the page ….

June. This morning I turned the page of a calendar and stared June in the face. 16 days now until I leave on this incredible … and most excellent … adventure. The Ride. A ride of, and into, the heart & spirit of Life itself. Though it was just 4 months ago this idea was birthed, and time has flown by so fast, I sit here today ready. Don’t get me wrong … there is still so much to be done … I’m still finding hidden things in need of sorting and tossing or giving away; the house is to close on the 8th and there is still the final cleaning and necessary touch-up; stops still need to be coordinated, and names & addresses to be gathered and saved; there are legal issues – healthcare proxies to be taken care of, car inspection to be done, and various accounts & mail to be forward to a  so-called “permanent residence” – the home of a big-hearted friend. And then … then there are the final lunches and dinners, the letters and many hugs & tears of goodbye. But I am ready.

A friend asked me the other day if I had any second thoughts, or if I was nervous. “No”, I replied, pausing a moment to reflect on it all … “Not in the least.” And that, I think, has been the most amazing gift of all. They say that when you see your path in life, when its purpose lays itself at your feet, everything falls together in perfect serendipitous fashion and answers are revealed even before the questions are asked. And so it has been with this. The journey before the Journey has been one of incredible ease and joy … and I can only imagine that the Ride itself will follow suit. I know there will be challenges along the way – but that’s part of why I’m doing this – to learn, to grow, to stretch boundaries and challenge myself with a dream … to make it happen. And I’m so glad you’re following along! I’m excited to share all of this with you … and the early itinerary is almost done and things are just about set through Kentucky – and well into September. I’ll post that in the next few days or next weekend.

Well, very soon now the Ride itself will begin, and I’m looking forward to writing stories of the road and the people I meet … snippets of their lives and mine, now, as we meet & join together for just a brief moment in time.  

16 days…  I’d better get back to packing!

Leave a Reply

