For Sale

“One does not discover new lands without consenting
to lose sight of the shore for a very long time.” ~ André Gide

home for sale 2Today, I suppose you could say I have officially stepped onto the magic carpet that will take me to days and to places unfamiliar, and change just about everything in my life as I’ve known it so far.  Today, my home is officially for sale.

It was a place I’d joyously moved into just 20 short months ago; a lovely little mobile that offered me inexpensive shelter from the cold winters and sticky summers. A home where I hung laundry, fed hundreds of birds, and sat summer nights by glowing campfires, gazing at the thousands of stars that lit the night sky. A quiet refuge from the world. It was a place I needed, as life had presented a number of painful and difficult challenges in the several years before I moved, and my head was spinning by the time I arrived. It has served me well, offering hours of quiet and solitude at the end of a busy day.  Those 20 months of quiet allowed me to heal, and learn the deep lessons the years before had brought. Now, however, it is time to move on. And to move on in a way that will, in all likelihood, challenge me far more than I’ve ever been challenged before … but will also, without question, reward me in more ways than I can even begin to imagine.

So, now the work begins in ernest. There is much to do in the short few months that lie ahead … there is the cleaning, the sorting, the purging, the shredding, the selling and tossing away. The decisions.  The calculation of finances and discussions of “just in case” scenarios with friends. The choosing of what must go – and where it goes – and what will come with me … as all that will, must fit neatly into a 2006 Subaru Forester. To pack 60 years of one’s life into less than 50 cubic feet is both incredibly daunting and extremely liberating. I am grateful for the memories I will carry with me as I go.

Next Sunday, I will turn 60 years old. And on that day, a potential buyer will be coming to look at the home … my biggest wish, my hopeful hope, as I blow out the candles on a life past, is that I may step into a new year with not only with joy and excited anticipation in my heart, but also a signed agreement sitting sweetly next to a chocolate cake, and a glass of champagne. Wish me luck.

11 thoughts on “For Sale

  1. Happy Trails, Cat. Your Journey awaits with many gifts along the way. Each person, each place has a subtle gift in there somewhere. Some not so subtle! You will know. ~ ❤ ~

    Like

    • Thank you, Marianne … and so very glad you are “coming along”. I hope we will meet along the way. And yes, you are so right … each person, each place has a gift, and I am so very blessed to receive them. Love to you!

      Like

  2. You go girl…I envi and admire your courage …go for it…the sky is the limit reach for the stars. Will love to follow you and be with you in spirit. And know when every you cross that big pool your welcome to stay with us. ❤

    Like

    • Sweet precious sister…you carry within such strength and courage..the universe gifts us as I have shared before and your intentions have echoed your hearts desires and are now presenting themselves to you. Blessings on the sale of your home..I joyfully look forward to sharing your journey with you..I keep hearing the song “You Light Up My Life” by Debby Boone and sometimes when I hear songs that are brought to me through Spirit there is a most beautiful message being brought from a loved one or friend who may have loved this song as well when they walked the Earth Mother…just passing this along to you…

      Like

      • Nya:weh. Thank you, my sister. My apology that it’s taken me so long to reply, but for some reason, today, I stumbled onto your note again. I remember this song well, and will hold it in my heart tonight. Light and love to you, and thank you once again.

        Like

    • Thank you, Jackie … and thank you for coming along. As a favorite quote says, “I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night.” … and you know I love to dance among them!! Thank you, too, for your prayers and support – the ocean is but a drop in the bucket when it comes to love, and I am blessed by yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

